Instrumentals written by Andrew Charman-Williams and performed by either Andrew Charman-Williams or Spiral Net.

  • The Merry Conclusion | Camberwell

    This instrumental by Spiral Net is based on a couple of 3/2 tunes from Dancing Master volume 2 from around 1710-1718 called The Merry Conclusion (or The Assembly) and Camberwell. These are not treated in a traditional manner but as melodies for electronic music.

  • Almost Spring

    Almost Spring is an acoustic instrumental for mandolin and Irish bouzouki by Andrew Charman-Williams.

  • Floating Downstream

    Floating Downstream is a partly acoustic, laid back instrumental by Andrew Charman-Williams.

  • Hamlel

    Hamlel is a partly acoustic instrumental for Irish bouzouki and accordion by Andrew Charman-Williams.

    Even though this is the version with revised audio there are still some audio issues so I will think about re-recording it at some point.

  • Lazy Sunday Arvo

    Lazy Sunday Arvo is a mainly acoustic instrumental by Andrew Charman-Williams.

  • Limits in the Key of 50Hz

    (Industrial Decay)

    Limits in the Key of 50 Hz (Industrial Decay) by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is a piece composed with certain guidelines in place. It takes influences from ambient, downtempo, minimalism and other styles and has elements of an industrial feel to it. It is not in standard western equal temperament tuning but in a scale based on 50 Hz which is between G and Ab and is the frequency of electricity in Australia.

    It was created from one single, fairly short sound sample with the additional limitations of the sample only being able to be modified by stretching, shrinking, reversing or trimming the sample and by the use of EQ. The sounds are tuned to a harmonic series based on a 50Hz fundamental with all harmonic series notes up to 1600 Hz. Following on from those limits means no synthesizer or other sound source was used with it just being direct manipulation of the sound sample.

  • Locria and Beyond

    Locria and Beyond by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) explores the locrian mode before moving to the super locrian and then ultra locrian before settling again in locrian. Partly minimalist in nature this instrumental piece attempts to explore the unsettled and unsettling nature of locrian.

  • Lament III

    Lament III by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is the third in a series based on the lament bass. It is somewhere between ambient and downtempo with a slightly disturbing undertone.

  • Waves Upon Waves

    Waves Upon Waves by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is a downtempo/ambient electronic instrumental.

  • Lament I

    Lament I by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is the first in a series inspired by but not restricted to the lament bass. It is an electronic ambient instrumental.

  • Lament II

    Lament II by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is the second in a series of pieces inspired by but not limited to the lament bass. Lament II is an ambient/downtempo electronic instrumental piece.

  • Peaceful Morning Disturbed

    Peaceful Morning Disturbed by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams is a downtempo/ambient instrumental. A peaceful morning in a rural setting disturbed by the gunshots of the nearby farmers.

  • Ten Pentas

    Ten Pentas by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is an exploration of ten different pentatonic scales that can be created using certain rules (2 x minor 3rd, 3 x major 2nd). It uses some techniques of serialism, math & aleatoric approaches to create an ambient piece.

  • Remember

    Remember by Spiral Net (written by Andrew Charman-Williams) is an electronic piece with computer generated vocals.